The Eagle Ford Shale reaches across 25 Texas counties. But more than 60  percent — 141 of the play's 227 drilling rigs — are operating in five counties:  La Salle, Karnes, McMullen, Gonzales and DeWitt, according to the Baker Hughes  Rig Count, a barometer of the health of the drilling industry and an indicator  of where companies are most interested in drilling.

Rigs are clustering along the Gonzales-Karnes county line, and lining up  across all of DeWitt County, except for the southeastern quadrant.

Farther west, neighboring La Salle and McMullen counties have earned a  reputation for being what's colloquially called “more oily,” producing more  crude oil or natural gas liquids than the currently uneconomic dry gas.

Read more:

Cotulla Chamber of Commerce